I had a wake up call oh...three months ago when my lovely doctor (shout out to my lovely British OB-GYN!) told me that I might be at risk for Diabetes. I was like...say what? Diabetes? You mena like Insulin shots and my feet swellin up and blood sugar-pricking my finger to test my blood sugar? Me, Chauni?!!!
It was then that I decided that I need to change. I instantly stopped eatting fried stuff, ate only salads and Lean Cuisines, low fat yogurt etc. I started going to the gym 3-4 times a week. I'd stay like 2.5 hours no joke! I actually enjoyed it. And the weight lifing, and the men at the gym...
Anyway...I did that for what....10 weeks, all the while expecting weight to just fall off. Two years ago I did a 1350 calorie diet and lost like 20 pounds in a month. Yeah, it was great! I also took Slim Quick and some other pills..Fire Balls...
nothing happened. I didn't loose a signal pound! I did notice some change in my arms..barely. I then gave up! I felt like I could eat what I want and not excercise if I wanted to stay the same size so I quit. This was in May.
Now it's July and...I've seen the light. Again. One of my idols, Jennifer Hudson is the new spokeswoman for Weight Watchers. I'll admit when I first saw her campaign I was alittle upset. She's like a size four now and I don't ever want to be that small. But I realized that it's more about being healthy. So I thought hmm...maybe I should try that...but decided I didn't want to pay them $40.00 a month (the monthly fee where I am).
Like two nights ago I was watching my girls the Kardashians. I love these girls, obviously. My fave is Ms. Khloe. Anyway, I was looking her over and-I've always admired her body-in a "not attracted to her" kind of way. I just really think she is nicely proportion and looks great. I also know that she is does the low carb think and coincidently so does my mom. My mom's body is great too and so is Khloe's. So I thought, why don't I try that? No bread, Splenda, bye-bye mashed potatoes. Just for a month to start off. Let's see how much weight falls off. My mom always said to me "Once you really want to loose weight, you know what to do". And so...there it is.
I've said aaaaaaaaaalllllllllllllll of that (and I know it was a lot) to say, I'm going Low-Carb! I'm doing this to keep form being diabetic and because I kinda miss how I used to look. I do want to make a statement that I am not at all trying to become all skinny. My friend Shawn from work (Shout out Shawn!!) thinks I have something against skinny people which is so not true!! I do however embrace my thickiness and don't aspire to be anything else just because society favors something else. Kinda like my sistas and natural hair. I'msure they don't have a problem with people with chemically straightened hair, they just desire something else. LOL. Off subject again I know, I know, I'm a rambler what can I say!
Umm...where was I, oh yeah...I do initially only want to loose 25 lbs but more is welcome. Let's see. I'll keep blogging about my progress! Oh and I'll be uploading some pictures soon. Pics of me now, where I was, and eventually where I will be.
Mwah!
Yah me!!
No comments:
Post a Comment